Breach Watch
Origin Energy
Origin Energy — Data breach disclosed August 2026
- New incident
- Not stated
- Verified from two or more independent sources
What this record states
Origin Energy has reported a data breach.
The source states that information about customers was involved, across 1 category of personal information.
No source consulted for this record states when the incident occurred.
People affected: 900,000, estimated by the source.
Record overview
- Incident date
- Not confirmed
- Discovery date
- Not confirmed
- Disclosure date
- 21 August 2026
- Notification date
- Not confirmed
- People affected
- 900,000, estimated by the source
- Who was affected
- customers
Each date is either established by a quoted source or explicitly not confirmed.
Affected people and data
Categories of affected data
- customer files
Notifications and response
Regulators notified
- Office of the Australian Information Commissioner
- OAIC
Law enforcement notified
- Australian Cyber Security Centre
- Australian Federal Police
Legal and formal response
Not stated
Technical and organisational remediation
Not stated
Official sources
Corroborating report
Origin Energy data breach prompts staff restrictions on access to customer details
Further official sources
Corroborating report
Origin Energy warns customers after revealing new details of July breach affecting 900,000 Aussies | 7NEWS
Corroborating report
Origin Energy data breach: Dozens of full customer bank account details accessed in cybersecurity incident | Nine.com.au
Corroborating report
Origin Energy reveals full bank account numbers exposed | Information Age | ACS
Corroborating report
Origin Energy data leak cybersecurity lessons have experts worried - ABC News